Clinical Electives in Asia and the Middle East 2026: Placements, Costs and Recognition
06.09.2026
Where can a European medical student do a clinical elective in Asia or the Middle East in 2026?
About a dozen university systems across Asia and the Gulf run elective offices with published fees, duration limits and application windows, all in English. Singapore, Japan, South Korea, India, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, the United Arab Emirates and Qatar take students from European faculties. Saudi Arabia's flagship research hospital does not.
The systems split into two families. One takes applications from anyone enrolled at a recognised medical school. The other takes only students whose home faculty holds a written agreement, and Japan has moved into that family: Toho University in Tokyo states that from July 2025 it accepts applications only from institutions with an agreement in place, and the University of Tokyo's elective office says it is not currently accepting applications from unaffiliated medical schools. Check that first. It decides whether the conversation starts with you or with your dean.
| Country and institution | Published elective fee | Duration allowed | Entry route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Singapore: National University of Singapore | S$625 per week plus S$152.80 application fee (2026) | 2 to 12 weeks | Short-term visit pass, 30 days, free; work holiday pass for hands-on work |
| Japan: Toho University | JPY 20,000 per week plus JPY 10,000 application fee (2026) | 2-week rotations, up to six | Student arranges own visa; no guarantor offered |
| Japan: University of Tokyo | JPY 59,200 per four weeks, plus JPY 9,800 application and JPY 28,200 entrance (June 2023) | 4 to 8 weeks | Student arranges own visa; office cannot act as guarantor |
| South Korea: Yonsei University College of Medicine | KRW 250,000 per week; KRW 1,000,000 for four weeks (2026) | Up to 4 weeks, two departments | Proof of health insurance required |
| India: All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi | US$125 flat, covering up to three months (2026) | Up to 3 months | Student visa for curriculum electives; i-Intern visa only after graduation |
| Sri Lanka: University of Colombo; General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University | Colombo US$90 per week plus US$20 administration (faculty handbook); Kotelawala US$50 per week (2026) | 2 weeks to 3 months | Business electronic travel authorisation, extendable on arrival |
| Malaysia: Universiti Malaya | MYR 750 processing plus MYR 1,500 attachment fee (2026) | 2 to 8 weeks | Health and travel insurance valid in Malaysia |
| United Arab Emirates: Dubai Health | AED 230 application, AED 52.50 per training day (2026) | 10 to 60 working days | Any visa covering the stay; hands-on needs a trainee licence |
| Qatar: Hamad Medical Corporation | Not published; international exchange programme | Maximum 4 weeks | Arranged with the host college; observership basis |
| Qatar: Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar | Not published; Visiting Student Learning Opportunities portal | Set per elective, at Hamad General Hospital | Own health and malpractice cover must extend to Qatar |
What does a clinical elective at the National University of Singapore cost?
The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine charged international students outside a bilateral exchange agreement S$625 per week plus a non-refundable S$152.80 application fee in September 2026; exchange-agreement students, Singaporeans and permanent residents pay nothing. Postings run two to twelve weeks for students already in their clinical years. The window opens twelve months ahead and shuts six months out.
Two details matter more than the price. The school states on its own frequently-asked-questions page that hands-off observership is the default mode for most Singapore electives, and that such a placement needs only a short-term visit pass of up to thirty days, carrying no charge; extensions to under ninety days go to the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority. Hands-on work runs on a work holiday pass, and the school does not sponsor immigration applications. On indemnity it accepts cover from your home faculty or a travel policy carrying third-party liability, and points students who have neither towards the Medical Protection Society in Singapore. One quiet trap: the letter of completion is issued only if you submit the post-assessment form.
How do Japanese and South Korean elective offices decide who gets a place?
Through institutional agreements, almost entirely. Japan's leading faculties now gate electives behind a signed partnership with your home school, and the change is recent enough that older advice is stale. South Korea stays open to individuals but works to narrow windows.
Toho University describes its training as observation-style with no hands-on component, which is the honest thing to publish. The University of Tokyo runs four-to-eight-week electives for final-year students, wants proof of professional liability and health insurance plus immunisation records sixty days ahead, and cannot act as a visa guarantor. Science Tokyo bills JPY 29,700 by the month even for a partial one, paid in cash, and asks for local liability cover at roughly JPY 2,000.
Yonsei University College of Medicine in Seoul allows four weeks across a maximum of two departments, at KRW 250,000 per week, in two fixed month-long windows each year: one in winter for the autumn placements, one in midsummer for the spring ones. Miss one document and the file is not read.
What do electives cost in India, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Malaysia?
Far less than in Singapore or Japan, and the structures differ. India charges one flat fee whatever the length. Sri Lanka charges by the week in United States dollars. Malaysia charges a fixed pair of fees that does not move with duration.
The All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi takes its US$125 by bank draft or in cash on arrival, wants the application three months ahead with a reference letter from your dean, and does not permit students to engage in patient-care activities. Temporary registration with the medical council is not required precisely because of that.
Marina, who lived in India before joining Medschool Experts, flags the visa point that catches people out. For a student still enrolled in a medical degree, the correct category is a student visa. India's i-Intern visa looks superficially right, but the High Commission of India in London sets out that it is for applicants immediately after graduation, and that a trainee travelling for an internship forming part of their curriculum, who has not completed graduation, can be issued a student visa instead. Applying under the wrong head is the commonest reason an Indian elective slips a month.
The Faculty of Medicine at the University of Colombo asks for applications three months ahead because processing takes two to three, and runs nothing in late December, early January or the middle to end of April. Its per-week fees come from an international students' handbook carrying no revision date on the faculty site, so treat them as the published order of magnitude and confirm with the international unit. Siriraj Hospital at Mahidol University caps its programme at six weeks and calls the placement observational, without patient care or academic credit. Universiti Malaya wants six months plus up to eight weeks of processing, and insurance valid in Malaysia within thirty days of the offer letter. Ward rounds there run in five languages.
How do clinical electives work in the Gulf: the United Arab Emirates, Qatar and Saudi Arabia?
The Gulf is the one region where the observership-versus-hands-on distinction is written into the application form rather than left implied. Dubai Health, which runs Rashid Hospital, Dubai Hospital and Al Jalila Children's Specialty Hospital alongside Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences, offers both tracks. Qatar routes students through named partners. Saudi Arabia's largest research hospital takes only Saudi students.
The Dubai Health clinical attachment runs ten to sixty working days and takes university students as well as practising clinicians. Applicants supply a good-standing certificate, a recent English language certificate, a health clearance and a visa valid for the whole stay; the hands-on track also requires a trainee licence and malpractice insurance. Applications go through the Dubai Health services portal, not individual departments.
Marina spent several years in Dubai and works in visa and immigration law. Her reading of the file: the visa is the easy part, the licence is not. Dubai Health does not sponsor a student visa for a short attachment, so most European students arrive on an ordinary entry permit covering the dates. The trainee licence sits with the regulator rather than the hospital, so budget for it as a separate track running in parallel.
In Qatar, Hamad Medical Corporation runs a four-week medical student exchange with the Qatar Medical Students Association and the College of Medicine at Qatar University, through the International Federation of Medical Students' Associations exchange programme: five days a week, six hours a day, observership basis, with applications routed through your national exchange officer. Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar is the other door into Doha, offering electives at Hamad General Hospital filed three months ahead, through the Association of American Medical Colleges' Visiting Student Learning Opportunities portal. Your own health coverage and malpractice insurance must actually cover you there.
King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre in Riyadh publishes pre-intern and summer electives with the stated eligibility criterion that the student be Saudi. For a European student the route into the Kingdom is an agreement negotiated between faculties. It takes longer and it works. Medschool Experts places students both ways, and other placements assembled like this appear in our student stories.
Which of these electives count towards a European medical curriculum?
Your home faculty decides, and it decides before you go. Directive 2005/36/EC of the European Union fixes minimum requirements for basic medical training and makes qualifications meeting them automatically recognised between member states; it does not tell your faculty which foreign ward counts. That judgment sits with the dean's office, recorded as a written pre-approval.
Three things decide whether it comes back positive: a named clinician who will sign an assessment or log book, a discipline your curriculum recognises, and a length meeting your faculty's block minimum. The observership question feeds straight into it. A log book of observed cases is a different document from one recording procedures you performed under supervision, and European faculties differ on whether the first is enough. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Toho University and Siriraj Hospital all state that their placements involve no patient-care activity. Check that against your regulations before you pay. Requirements vary by faculty and by profile, so book a free consultation and Medschool Experts assesses the case against your curriculum.
What counts as United States clinical experience for residency, and why do programme directors care?
United States clinical experience means clinical work performed inside the United States. An elective in Singapore, Seoul or Doha does not become United States clinical experience because it was hands-on or excellent. Within the United States, the live distinction is between a hands-on rotation, where you take histories, examine patients and write notes under supervision, and an observership, where you shadow.
The two produce different letters. A supervising physician who has watched you take a history can attest to clinical performance; one who has watched you watch cannot. Volume makes that attestation scarce. In the 2024 Main Residency Match, the National Resident Matching Program recorded 14,772 international medical graduates submitting rank order lists: 4,751 United States citizens studying abroad, 10.6 per cent of the pool, and 10,021 non-citizens at 22.3 per cent. Of those, 59.9 per cent and 52.8 per cent respectively matched into their preferred specialty.
The certification layer sits with the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates. Its Recognized Accreditation Policy, implemented in November 2024 and administered by Intealth, requires a medical school to be accredited by an agency itself recognised by the World Federation for Medical Education or the National Committee on Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation, and to hold an ECFMG Sponsor Note. Intealth is explicit that the policy does not gate certification: graduates can continue to pursue ECFMG certification even where their school does not yet meet its requirements.
An Asian or Gulf elective still earns its keep. It gives you a supervising physician in a large teaching hospital who can write about your clinical reasoning, and exposure to disease patterns a European ward never shows.
{{cta}}When should you apply, month by month, for a 2026 or 2027 elective?
Start twelve months out and you have the full field; start six months out and Singapore and Malaysia are closed. The binding constraints are the National University of Singapore's six-month cut-off, Universiti Malaya's six months plus eight weeks of processing, and the roughly six months Siriraj Hospital asks applicants to allow.
At twelve months, work out which family each target belongs to; a partnership-only faculty means the first email goes from your international office to theirs. At nine months, request the supporting letter. Deans travel.
Then come money and immunisation. Yonsei University asks for the transfer two weeks ahead, and immunisation records are the item most often late: the University of Tokyo wants them sixty days before the rotation. Leave the last six weeks for the entry permit and for confirming the placement mode in writing. Medschool Experts runs this sequence for clients as part of its placement services.
What does a four-week placement actually cost?
One named scenario: four weeks at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore, self-funded, hands-off observership.
The application fee is S$152.80. The elective fee is S$625 per week, so four weeks is S$2,500. Together, S$2,652.80 payable to the university. A four-week posting fits inside the thirty-day short-term visit pass, which carries no charge, so the immigration line is zero. Indemnity is supplied free by your home faculty or bought as a travel policy carrying third-party liability. Flights and accommodation sit on top and vary too widely to publish as a figure.
The same four weeks elsewhere, at each institution's own published 2026 rates. Yonsei University College of Medicine: KRW 250,000 times four, which its page states as KRW 1,000,000. Toho University: JPY 10,000 plus four weeks at JPY 20,000, giving JPY 90,000. University of Tokyo, on its June 2023 instructions: JPY 9,800 plus JPY 28,200 plus JPY 59,200, giving JPY 97,200. Universiti Malaya: MYR 750 plus MYR 1,500, a flat MYR 2,250 whether you stay two weeks or eight. Dubai Health, at twenty working days: AED 230 plus twenty days at AED 52.50 plus the AED 20 knowledge fee, giving AED 1,300. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences: US$125, the same US$125 that would cover twelve weeks.
Where fees run per week, length is a linear cost. Where they are flat, as in New Delhi and Kuala Lumpur, cost per week collapses the longer you stay, so the sensible length is the maximum your curriculum recognises.
What does thin elective coverage usually leave unanswered?
Most short guides give you a fee and a country. Four things underneath decide whether the placement happens.
The partnership gate moves, and it moved in Japan during 2025, so a list compiled two years ago sends you to offices that no longer read your email. The mode decides the paperwork, not the other way round: observership needs a visit pass and third-party liability, hands-on needs indemnity in your own name and, in Dubai, a trainee licence. Blackout periods are unadvertised, from the University of Colombo's April gap to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences taking rural postings only between January and June. And the certificate is not automatic: at the National University of Singapore the letter of completion is issued only on request, so a student who flies home without asking has four excellent weeks and no document.
| Institution | Mode offered | Insurance the office asks for | Open to non-partner students |
|---|---|---|---|
| National University of Singapore | Hands-off observership by default | Home-faculty indemnity, or third-party liability cover | Yes, at full fee |
| All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi | Observation only; no patient-care activity | Not specified | Yes, with a letter from your dean |
| Toho University, Japan | Observation-style, stated as having no hands-on component | Overseas accident and sickness cover | No, partner institutions only since July 2025 |
| Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University | Observational; no patient care, no academic credit | Not specified | Yes, with a processing fee |
| Dubai Health, United Arab Emirates | Two tracks: observership, or hands-on with patient contact | Malpractice insurance for the hands-on track | Yes, including visitors |
| King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre, Riyadh | Pre-intern and summer electives | Not published | No; the published criterion is that the student be Saudi |
The author's view
I work in visa and immigration law, and I lived in Dubai and then in India before moving to Belgrade, so the part of this I find genuinely misunderstood is the visa. Students treat it as an afterthought and the hospital application as the real work. In India it is the other way round. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences processes a US$125 elective request without much drama; what derails people is arriving on the wrong visa head because the i-Intern label looked closer to what they were doing.
Dubai taught me the other half. There the entry permit is straightforward and the licence is the bottleneck. A hands-on clinical attachment at a Dubai Health hospital needs a trainee licence from the regulator, running on a separate clock from the AED 230 application. Students who decide in month five that they would rather have patient contact than observe have restarted their timeline. Decide the mode first, then apply.
The cheap placements are not the weak ones. A US$125 flat fee in New Delhi buys a case volume European teaching hospitals cannot match, and a S$2,652.80 posting in Singapore buys a system so orderly you will spend the first week recalibrating. They teach different things. Pick the one your log book can absorb, get the recognition decision in writing before you pay anything, and let us build the immigration file around it.
Summary
- The National University of Singapore charged S$625 per week plus a S$152.80 application fee in 2026, with postings of two to twelve weeks and a six-month cut-off.
- The All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi charged US$125 in 2026 for up to three months, on an observation-only basis.
- Japan has moved to partnership-only access: Toho University since July 2025, the University of Tokyo in September 2026.
- Yonsei University College of Medicine charged KRW 250,000 per week in 2026, allowing four weeks across two departments.
- Dubai Health priced clinical attachments at AED 230 per application plus AED 52.50 per training day in 2026, across separate observership and hands-on tracks.
- Hamad Medical Corporation in Qatar runs a four-week observership exchange, and Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar places visiting students at Hamad General Hospital.
- King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre in Riyadh states that its undergraduate elective students should be Saudi; European access runs through faculty agreements.
- An elective in Asia or the Gulf is not United States clinical experience; that means hands-on work inside the United States.
Conclusion
The elective is the cheapest piece of international clinical training a European medical student will ever buy, and the offices running it are more transparent in Asia and the Gulf than almost anywhere else. What separates a placement that happens from one that does not is starting twelve months out, knowing which faculties take unaffiliated applicants, and settling the observership question in writing before money moves.
Medschool Experts arranges placements across all of these systems, including the faculty-to-faculty correspondence partnership-only hospitals require. Bring us the countries you are considering and your curriculum's recognition rules: book a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions about clinical electives in Asia and the Middle East
How far in advance do I need to apply for a 2026 clinical elective?
Twelve months for the full field, six months as the hard floor. The National University of Singapore opens its window twelve months ahead and states that applications filed less than six months before the start will not be considered. Universiti Malaya requires six months plus eight weeks of processing. New Delhi and Colombo work to three months.
What is the cheapest recognised clinical elective in Asia?
Among institutions that publish rates, the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi is lowest at US$125 for a placement of up to three months, as its elective rules stated in 2026. General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University in Sri Lanka charges US$50 per week. Both are observation-weighted, so check that an observed log book satisfies your curriculum.
Do I need malpractice insurance for a clinical elective in Asia?
It depends on whether the placement involves patient contact. For a hands-off observership, the National University of Singapore accepts indemnity from your home faculty or a travel policy carrying third-party liability. For the hands-on track of a Dubai Health clinical attachment, malpractice insurance in your own name is mandatory alongside a trainee licence. Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar requires students to confirm their own cover extends to the host facility.
Which visa do I need for a medical elective in India?
A student visa, if you are still enrolled. The High Commission of India in London sets out that a foreign scholar or trainee travelling to India for an internship forming part of their curriculum, who has not yet completed graduation, can be issued a student visa. The separate i-Intern visa is for applicants who have finished graduation, limited to the internship duration or one year, whichever is shorter.
Does an elective in Singapore or Dubai count as United States clinical experience?
No. United States clinical experience means clinical work carried out inside the United States, and residency programme directors read it that way however strong the overseas placement was. What an Asian or Gulf elective provides is a supervising physician who can write a substantive letter, plus exposure to case mixes a European ward will not show you.
Can European students do an elective in Saudi Arabia?
Not through the individual route at King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre in Riyadh, whose published eligibility criterion for undergraduate electives is that the medical student be Saudi. The workable path is an agreement between your faculty and a Saudi one, which is how most European placements in the Kingdom are assembled. It takes longer, and it happens.
Will my home university recognise an observership in my log book?
Some faculties do; others require documented patient contact, which is why written pre-approval before payment is the standard advice. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Toho University and Siriraj Hospital all state that their placements exclude patient-care activity. Ask your dean's office for the decision in writing, naming the hospital, the discipline, the weeks and the supervision.
What students say about Medschool Experts
Over 500 placements at more than 25 partner universities across 10+ countries. Read independent student reviews on Trustpilot.
About the author
Marina
Expert in international careers and immigration law at Medschool Experts
Marina is responsible for international career paths for doctors, dentists, pharmacists, and veterinarians at Medschool Experts. She speaks daily with doctors, heads of medical universities, and deans — and has built a worldwide medical professionals’ network together with Medschool Experts that stretches from Europe to the Middle East and beyond.
Before joining Medschool Experts, she worked for several years at a visa agency, guiding applications for visas and residence permits across multiple continents. She has lived in Dubai and India and currently resides in Belgrade, Serbia. For Medschool Experts, she travels regularly to university locations, clinics, and partners in various countries.
Her topic is the question that stands at the end of every medical degree: Where do I actually want to work and live — and what do I need to do to get there?
More articles worth reading
Why Students Transfer from Medical University of Varna — Your Options
Why Students Transfer from Medical University of Warsaw — Your Options
Why Students Transfer from Masaryk University Faculty of Medicine — Your Options

Ahmad

Sabrina

Rami

Noah
500+ students placed.
Now it's your turn!
No daydreaming, no empty promises. Just a clear plan — for the start of your medical degree.
40 minutes, no obligation
