Cost of Studying Dentistry in Czechia and Slovakia 2026
18.09.2026
What does a year of English-taught dentistry cost in Czechia and Slovakia in 2026?
Between 13,500 EUR and 24,250 EUR, depending on the faculty. Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice sits at the bottom with 13,500 EUR for 2026/2027, set by the Rector's fee decision for that year. The First Faculty of Medicine of Charles University in Prague sits at the top with 24,250 EUR, published on its own tuition page for students entering in 2026/2027. Everything else falls in between.
Three of the seven faculties invoice in Czech crowns rather than euro, which changes how to read the table. Hradec Králové, Plzeň and Brno all quote a crown amount for 2026/2027, so the euro cost depends on the rate on the day the transfer leaves your account. Masaryk University says openly that some faculties charge in crowns and points international payers to a currency platform. Plan in crowns.
| Faculty (city) | Dentistry fee, 2026/2027 | Length | Degree | General medicine, same year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Faculty of Medicine, Charles University (Prague) | 24,250 EUR per year | 5 years | MDDr. | 24,250 EUR |
| Faculty of Medicine in Hradec Králové, Charles University | 410,000 CZK per year | 5 years | MDDr. | 400,000 CZK |
| Faculty of Medicine in Plzeň, Charles University | 390,000 CZK per year | 5 years | MDDr. | 390,000 CZK |
| Faculty of Medicine, Masaryk University (Brno) | 400,000 CZK per year | 5 years, 10 semesters | MDDr. | 380,000 CZK |
| Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, Palacký University (Olomouc) | 14,000 EUR per year | 5 years | MDDr. | 12,500 EUR |
| Faculty of Medicine, Comenius University (Bratislava) | 14,500 EUR per year | 5 years | MDDr. | 13,000 EUR, 6 years |
| Faculty of Medicine, Pavol Jozef Šafárik University (Košice) | 13,500 EUR per year | 5 years, 10 terms | MDDr. | 13,000 EUR, 6 years |
One detail in that table is easy to miss. At Palacký University Olomouc, dentistry costs 14,000 EUR against 12,500 EUR for general medicine, a gap of 1,500 EUR per year. In Bratislava the gap is also 1,500 EUR. In Košice it is 500 EUR. At the First Faculty in Prague and at Plzeň there is no gap at all — dentistry and medicine cost exactly the same. The premium for dentistry is real, but it is not a fixed rule.
Why is Charles University in Prague so much more expensive than Olomouc or Košice?
Because the First Faculty of Medicine prices itself as the flagship of the oldest university in central Europe, founded in 1348, with an English programme that has run for decades. The fee is a positioning decision, not a measure of chair time. Charles University's other two medical faculties, Hradec Králové and Plzeň, teach the same MDDr. degree under the same university and charge far less.
That matters when you are comparing. The diploma from Plzeň and the diploma from Prague both say Charles University. Both appear in the same annex of the same EU directive. Both let a graduate register as a dentist in any member state. What differs is the campus, the city, the size of the cohort and the price.
How are the five years of a dentistry programme structured?
All seven programmes run five years and end in the MDDr. title, the Czech and Slovak dental doctorate. The first two years are preclinical: anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, histology, alongside early work in the phantom laboratory. Clinical years follow. The Faculty of Medicine in Hradec Králové describes its curriculum as integrating theoretical, preclinical and clinical subjects, with phantom work starting immediately.
Masaryk University Brno runs practical training from the fourth semester onward and closes the degree with a seven-week intensive placement across conservative and paediatric dentistry, periodontics, prosthetics, orthodontics and oral surgery. It also runs a simulation centre, SIMU. Hradec Králové goes further on numbers and states two students per chair in clinical lessons, with intraoral scanning, CAD/CAM and 3D printing in the teaching.
That ratio is the figure worth chasing. Ask each faculty how many students share a chair and how many units the phantom laboratory has. It tells you more about the education than the fee does.
When do dentistry students first treat a real patient?
In the third year at both Hradec Králové and Brno, according to the faculties' own programme descriptions for 2026. Before that comes the phantom head: a mounted manikin with replaceable plastic teeth, a real handpiece and real water spray, where you learn cavity preparation, crown preparation and endodontic access without a patient in the chair.
Phantom work is where dentistry stops resembling medicine. A medical student in year two is reading; a dental student in year two is drilling, and being graded on a preparation measured in tenths of a millimetre. Marcel Kloos, who studied dentistry in Sofia between 2015 and 2021 and now practises as a licensed dentist in Switzerland, calls those years the point where the degree becomes a craft.
It is also where costs start to appear that tuition does not cover.
What do instruments, loupes and materials cost on top of tuition?
Very few faculties publish this, which is why it catches people out. Retailers give a usable range: dental student kits sold by the instrument supplier Medical Tools in September 2026 ran from about 60 USD for a basic examination kit to about 249 USD for a full dentistry student's kit. Budget a few hundred euro for year one.
Loupes are the second item. Magnification loupes with a headlight are close to standard equipment in clinical dentistry, and manufacturers run education programmes: LumaDent advertised up to 30 percent off for verified students in September 2026. Prices are quoted individually rather than published, so treat loupes as a planned purchase before the clinical years, not a first-week expense.
Basic examination and modelling instruments, laboratory coat, safety glasses. Retail student kits from about 60 USD, September 2026.
Full student kit for patient work. Retail sets to about 249 USD, September 2026. Consumables charged by the faculty clinic vary.
Loupes with headlight, priced on request with student discounts up to 30 percent, September 2026. Replacement burs and hand instruments.
What does a month in Prague, Brno, Bratislava or Košice cost a dental student?
Charles University publishes the clearest figures. On its cost-of-living page updated in February 2026 it puts a shared dormitory room in Prague at 180 EUR a month, a single dormitory room at 260 EUR, a shared flat at 400 to 520 EUR and a private flat at 720 to 1,000 EUR. Groceries run 140 to 250 EUR. The university's own summary: about 550 EUR a month for a modest life in a dormitory, about 1,000 EUR for an active life in private accommodation.
The Prague transport figure is the one that surprises people. A student public transport pass is 5.20 EUR a month. Not per week.
| Place and source | Accommodation per month | Transport per month | Eating out | Monthly guidance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prague — Charles University, February 2026 | Dormitory shared 180 EUR; dormitory single 260 EUR; shared flat 400–520 EUR | 5.20 EUR student pass | Restaurant lunch about 8 EUR | 550 EUR in a dormitory, 1,000 EUR in a private flat |
| Czechia overall, Brno included — Study in Czechia portal, 2026 | Dormitory named as the cheapest option | Not stated | Not stated | 500–750 EUR |
| Bratislava — Numbeo, 12 September 2026 | One-bedroom flat outside the centre 723.85 EUR | 40.50 EUR | Inexpensive meal 10.00 EUR | No total given |
| Košice — Numbeo, 16 August 2026 | One-bedroom flat outside the centre 635.88 EUR | 30.00 EUR | Inexpensive meal 8.50 EUR | No total given |
| Slovakia overall — SAIA portal, 2026 | Dormitory bed from 60 EUR; one-bedroom flat from 350 EUR with utilities | From 20 EUR | Canteen lunch from 2 EUR | 200–300 EUR dormitory, 550 EUR and up private |
For Brno, Masaryk University does not publish a city breakdown in the same form, so the reference point is the Czech government's Study in Czechia portal, which gives 500 to 750 EUR a month nationally in 2026. Slovakia works out lower. The SAIA Study in Slovakia portal puts dormitory beds from 60 EUR a month, a canteen lunch from 2 EUR and a transport pass from 20 EUR, with total guidance of 200 to 300 EUR a month in a dormitory.
Košice is cheapest on every line item that compares directly. Numbeo's September 2026 data puts a one-bedroom flat outside the Bratislava centre at 723.85 EUR against 635.88 EUR in Košice, and a transport pass at 40.50 EUR against 30.00 EUR.
What do five years of dentistry actually add up to?
Take the two ends of the range and itemise them. These are model budgets, not quotations, built from figures published in 2026. They show the shape of the decision, not what any one person will spend.
- Tuition, Pavol Jozef Šafárik University: 13,500 EUR
- Dormitory, 12 months at 120 EUR: 1,440 EUR
- Food, 12 months at 200 EUR: 2,400 EUR
- Transport pass, 12 months at 30 EUR: 360 EUR
- Instruments and consumables: about 250 EUR
- Year one total: about 17,950 EUR
- Tuition, First Faculty of Medicine: 24,250 EUR
- Single dormitory room, 12 months at 260 EUR: 3,120 EUR
- Groceries, 12 months at 195 EUR: 2,340 EUR
- Transport pass, 12 months at 5.20 EUR: 62 EUR
- Instruments and consumables: about 250 EUR
- Year one total: about 30,022 EUR
Run those forward over five years and the Košice model lands at 89,750 EUR while the Prague model lands at 150,110 EUR. The difference is 60,360 EUR, and 53,750 EUR of it is tuition alone. Living costs move the needle far less than the fee does.
One caveat works in your favour. The Faculty of Medicine of Comenius University in Bratislava states in its 2026/2027 admission information that a student is guaranteed to pay the same tuition fee each academic year for the standard duration of study. That is a five-year price lock for dentistry. Ask every faculty on your shortlist whether it does the same, because a fee that can rise annually and a fee that cannot are very different products.
Is a Czech or Slovak dentistry degree recognised across the European Union?
Yes, and the mechanism is written into law. Directive 2005/36/EC on the recognition of professional qualifications requires in Article 21(1) that each member state recognise evidence of formal qualifications as a dental practitioner listed in its Annex V, and give that evidence "the same effect on its territory as the evidence of formal qualifications which it itself issues". This is automatic recognition, and the Czech and Slovak MDDr. qualifications are listed.
The directive also sets the floor for the training itself. Article 34(2) requires that basic dental training comprise a total of at least five years of study or 5,000 hours of theoretical and practical training. That is why every programme in the table above runs five years and not four. The length is not a faculty preference. It is the condition for the diploma to travel.
Outside the European Union the route exists but runs differently. Switzerland participates in qualification recognition through its bilateral agreements with the EU, which is the path Marcel Kloos took after graduating in Sofia; the United Kingdom assesses EU dental qualifications through the General Dental Council. Pavol Jozef Šafárik University states plainly that its MDDr. is recognised in any country of the European Union. Beyond the EU, check with the national regulator before you enrol.
Can a previous degree shorten the route into dentistry?
It often can. Applicants who already hold a degree in dental hygiene, biomedical science, biology, pharmacy or a related health field frequently arrive with coursework that a receiving university is willing to recognise, and the effect on the length of study can be substantial. Medschool Experts is the world's leading specialist in credit-recognition placements for healthcare graduates and regularly achieves year 4 or year 5 entry at top universities worldwide.
Recognition is assessed on the individual file, not on a formula, and no two cases produce the same answer. What your previous study is worth depends on your transcripts, your degree and the receiving faculty. The only way to find out what applies to you is to have your documents looked at. Book a free consultation.
What is a realistic timeline for a September 2026 or 2027 start?
Dentistry runs on an annual cycle, and the useful planning unit is months rather than deadlines. Requirements and closing dates differ by faculty and by profile, so the checklist below is about sequence, not about specific dates. For the exact requirements that apply to your case, book a free individual consultation and Medschool Experts will assess your file directly.
- 12 to 10 months before start: shortlist two or three faculties. Compare fee, currency, city and whether the fee is locked for the standard duration.
- 10 to 8 months before start: gather certificates and transcripts, and start any translation or certification that takes weeks rather than days.
- 8 to 6 months before start: applications and entrance assessments run through this window. A credit-recognition file belongs here too.
- 5 to 3 months before start: acceptance, the study contract and the first tuition transfer. Czech faculties invoice in crowns, so watch the rate.
- 3 to 1 months before start: residence formalities, dormitory application, health insurance. Dormitory places go early.
- 4 to 2 weeks before start: arrival, enrolment, the first instrument kit. Phantom work begins in semester one at several faculties.
Start earlier than feels necessary. Document translation is the step that most often slips.
What most coverage of Czech and Slovak dentistry leaves out
Three things, and each of them changes a real number on your budget.
The first is currency. A fee of 400,000 CZK is a fixed crown amount, not a fixed euro amount, and over five years the euro cost of a Brno or Hradec Králové degree will move with the koruna. A fee of 13,500 EUR in Košice does not. That is a genuine difference in risk, and it is invisible if you only compare converted numbers on the day you happen to look.
The second is the fee guarantee. Comenius University in Bratislava commits to the same fee for the standard duration of study. Where a faculty makes no such commitment, the fee you see is the fee for year one only. Over a five-year programme that distinction can be worth thousands.
The third is what the fee actually includes. The Faculty of Medicine in Plzeň lists instruction, laboratory work, clinical training, library and computer facilities inside the fee, and accommodation and meals outside it. Other faculties are less explicit, and the gap shows up in the clinical years, where consumables, prosthetic laboratory work and replacement instruments are charged differently at each one. Ask before you sign, not in year three.
A fourth point is less about money. Czech and Slovak clinics treat Czech and Slovak patients, so the clinical years mean real conversations in the local language, and every one of these faculties teaches that language as a subject inside the English programme for exactly that reason. Take it seriously from the first semester and you arrive in year three able to take a history. The faculties are open about this.
If you want to see how the seven faculties compare side by side, our university overview lists them with their programmes, and student stories covers what the first clinical year looks like from the inside.
The author's view
I studied dentistry in Sofia between 2015 and 2021 and I now practise with a Swiss licence from Bern. When people ask me about Prague versus Košice, they usually expect me to defend the more expensive option. I do not. The thing that shaped my clinical ability was not the name on the building. It was how many hours I spent at a phantom head and how early someone let me near a real patient.
That is why the figure I would chase hardest is not the fee. It is the number of students per chair, and Hradec Králové is unusual in publishing it — two per chair in clinical lessons. Ask that question at every faculty you are considering. The answer you get, and how readily you get it, tells you a great deal.
The other thing I would say to anyone weighing a 60,000 EUR difference across five years: that gap is real money, and it is money you will still be repaying in your first years of practice. Both degrees open the same doors under the same directive. Choose the city you can live in for five years, the faculty that will put you in a clinic early, and the fee you can actually carry. Over 500 students have gone through our placements, and the ones who thrive are almost never the ones who paid the most.
Summary
- English-taught dentistry in Czechia and Slovakia costs between 13,500 EUR and 24,250 EUR per year for 2026/2027, according to the faculties' own fee pages.
- Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice is the cheapest at 13,500 EUR; the First Faculty of Medicine of Charles University in Prague is the most expensive at 24,250 EUR.
- Hradec Králové, Plzeň and Brno invoice in Czech crowns for 2026/2027: 410,000 CZK, 390,000 CZK and 400,000 CZK respectively.
- Every programme runs five years and ends in the MDDr. title, because Article 34(2) of EU directive 2005/36/EC requires at least five years or 5,000 hours of dental training.
- Article 21(1) of the same directive gives those qualifications automatic recognition in every EU member state.
- Living costs run about 550 to 1,000 EUR a month in Prague per Charles University in February 2026, and 200 to 550 EUR a month in Slovakia per the SAIA portal in 2026.
- Instruments are the cost nobody publishes: retail student kits ran 60 to 249 USD in September 2026, with loupes a separate later purchase.
- A five-year model total lands at 89,750 EUR in Košice and 150,110 EUR in Prague, and 53,750 EUR of that 60,360 EUR gap is tuition.
Conclusion
The degree is the same at every one of these seven faculties. The price is not, the currency is not, and the fee guarantee is not. Those three questions are worth more of your attention than any ranking.
Which faculty fits depends on your profile, your budget and where you intend to practise afterwards. Medschool Experts has placed over 500 study places and can look at your case directly — book a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions about the cost of studying dentistry in Czechia and Slovakia
How much is dentistry in English at Charles University in Prague in 2026?
The First Faculty of Medicine of Charles University publishes 24,250 EUR per academic year for students entering the English-taught dentistry programme in 2026/2027. That is the same fee it charges for general medicine. The programme runs five years and ends in the MDDr. degree. Charles University's other two medical faculties, in Hradec Králové and Plzeň, teach the same degree and charge considerably less, in Czech crowns.
Which faculty is cheapest for dentistry in 2026?
Among the faculties that quote in euro, Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice is lowest at 13,500 EUR per year for 2026/2027, set in the Rector's fee decision for that academic year. Palacký University Olomouc follows at 14,000 EUR and Comenius University in Bratislava at 14,500 EUR. The three Czech faculties that invoice in crowns sit in a similar band once converted, but the exact euro figure depends on the exchange rate.
How long does dentistry take in Czechia and Slovakia?
Five years at all seven faculties, ending in the MDDr. title. This is not a local convention. Article 34(2) of EU directive 2005/36/EC requires basic dental training to comprise at least five years of study or 5,000 hours of theoretical and practical training, and a programme that does not meet that floor would not qualify for automatic recognition across the European Union. General medicine in the same countries runs six years.
Is the MDDr. degree recognised in Germany, Austria and Switzerland?
Within the European Union, yes, automatically. Article 21(1) of directive 2005/36/EC obliges every member state to give a listed dental qualification the same effect as its own, which covers Germany and Austria. Switzerland is outside the EU but participates in qualification recognition through its bilateral agreements, which is the route Marcel Kloos took to a Swiss licence after graduating in Sofia. Confirm the current procedure with the national regulator before you enrol.
Do dentistry students pay more than medical students?
At most of these faculties, yes, but not all. Palacký University Olomouc charges 14,000 EUR for dentistry against 12,500 EUR for general medicine in 2026/2027, and Comenius University in Bratislava charges 14,500 EUR against 13,000 EUR. In Košice the gap is 500 EUR. At the First Faculty in Prague and at Plzeň the two programmes cost exactly the same. The premium reflects phantom laboratory and chair costs.
What should I budget beyond tuition?
Accommodation, food, transport, insurance and instruments. Charles University put a modest dormitory life in Prague at about 550 EUR a month in February 2026, rising to about 1,000 EUR in a private flat. The SAIA portal puts Slovakia at 200 to 300 EUR a month in a dormitory. Add instruments: retail dental student kits ran 60 to 249 USD in September 2026, with loupes a separate purchase before the clinical years.
Are tuition fees fixed for all five years?
It depends on the faculty, and it is worth asking directly. The Faculty of Medicine of Comenius University in Bratislava states in its 2026/2027 admission information that a student is guaranteed the same fee each academic year for the standard duration of study. Where no such guarantee is published, the advertised figure covers year one. Over five years that difference can be worth several thousand euro.
What are the entry requirements for these dentistry programmes?
Requirements vary by university and by your individual profile, and they change from one admission cycle to the next. Rather than work from a generic checklist, have your own documents assessed. Book a free individual consultation and Medschool Experts will look at your case directly, tell you which of the seven faculties fit your file, and set out what each one will want from you.
What students say about Medschool Experts
Over 500 placements at more than 25 partner universities across 10+ countries. Read independent student reviews on Trustpilot.
About the author

Marcel Kloos
Swiss-licensed dentist and founder of Medschool Experts
Marcel Kloos founded Medschool Experts while studying abroad; since then, over 500 study places have been secured. The Stuttgart-born dentist studied dentistry from 2015 to 2021 in Sofia and holds a Swiss dental licence.
Today he lives in Bern and runs Medschool Experts full-time as its owner.
More articles worth reading
Dentist Registration in New Zealand 2026: The DCNZ Route with a Foreign Degree
Studying Dentistry in Turkey 2026: Costs, Structure and Recognition
Nurse Registration in Canada and New Zealand 2026: NNAS and Nursing Council Routes

Ahmad

Sabrina

Rami

Noah
500+ students placed.
Now it's your turn!
No daydreaming, no empty promises. Just a clear plan — for the start of your medical degree.
40 minutes, no obligation