Medical study places without entrance exam restrictions — in Europe and worldwide

Personally guided by Marcel Kloos, founder of Medschool Experts, from your first consultation to the start of your career.
Book a free consultation
  • The right university for you — and a secure placement
  • A study place abroad with no entrance exam, internationally recognised
  • Support with enrolment, preparation and finding accommodation
  • Support with your university transfer
  • Guidance all the way to your first job as a doctor
Quick survey · anonymous
What was the main reason your studies came to a halt?
One question, ten seconds. Your answers feed directly into our advising — and into the next analysis here in the magazine.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Anonymous. We use your answers internally only, to improve our advising — never shared with third parties.
Magazine

How Much Does It Cost to Study Medicine in Slovakia? 2026 Figures

How Much Does It Cost to Study Medicine in Slovakia? 2026 Figures

04.09.2026

18 Min. Lesezeit

Six years of general medicine in English at a Slovak faculty costs between €10,000 and €13,000 a year in tuition for the 2026/2027 intake. That is the headline figure, and it is the one every comparison page repeats. It is also not the number that decides whether the plan works, because tuition is roughly two-thirds of what a student in Slovakia actually spends.

Four institutions teach the six-year general medicine programme in English: the Comenius University in Bratislava Faculty of Medicine, the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice Faculty of Medicine, the Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin, and the Slovak Medical University in Bratislava. Their published fees for 2026/2027 differ by €3,000 a year, which compounds into €18,000 across a degree.

What follows prices the whole thing. Tuition with the academic year attached, rent in Bratislava against Košice and Martin, the administrative charges that sit outside the advertised fee, one worked six-year total for a named example profile, and what the qualification is worth afterwards under European Union law.

Every figure here carries the year it was published, and where a number could not be traced to a university document it is marked as an estimate rather than dressed up as a fact. Last reviewed: September 2026.

How much is tuition for medicine in Slovakia in 2026?

For the 2026/2027 academic year the published annual fee for English-taught general medicine runs from €10,000 to €13,000. The Comenius University in Bratislava Faculty of Medicine and the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice Faculty of Medicine both sit at the top of that band. Martin and the Slovak Medical University sit below it.

The Comenius University figure is the firmest of the four, because the faculty states it twice: €13,000 for 2026/2027, and a written guarantee that a student pays the same fee every year for the standard six-year duration. That second sentence is worth more than the first. It converts an annual price into a fixed six-year contract.

Košice publishes €13,000 for general medicine in a rector’s decision covering studies taught in a language other than Slovak, and pairs it with an announced annual step of €500. The Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin publishes €11,500 for one academic year of two semesters. The Slovak Medical University in Bratislava carries €10,000 on its published programme information, the lowest of the four; that figure does not appear on its English pages with a 2026/2027 revision attached, so treat it as the current published number rather than a confirmed one for next year.

Faculty Annual tuition Academic year Application fee Fee fixed for six years?
Comenius University in Bratislava, Faculty of Medicine€13,0002026/2027€99Yes, stated in writing
Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice, Faculty of Medicine€13,0002026/2027€30No, €500 annual step announced
Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin€11,5002026/2027€70Not stated publicly
Slovak Medical University in Bratislava€10,000Current published listing€70Not stated publicly

Figures as published for the 2026/2027 intake and collected in September 2026. Application fees are charged per programme applied to.

Which Slovak medical faculty is cheapest over the whole degree?

On tuition alone the Slovak Medical University in Bratislava is cheapest at roughly €60,000 for six years, followed by Martin at €69,000. Both Bratislava’s Comenius faculty and Košice reach €78,000 at a flat rate. Košice can reach €85,500 if its announced annual increase applies to students already enrolled.

That last clause matters more than the headline gap. A €500 step, compounded across a cohort’s own six years, is €7,500 — more than half a year of tuition in Martin. The published wording says the fee has stood at €13,000 since 2025/2026 with an annual increase of €500 each year. Whether that step applies to new cohorts only or also to continuing students is the single question worth putting to the faculty in writing before anyone transfers a deposit.

Comenius University has already shown what movement looks like between cohorts. Its published fee for the 2025/2026 intake was €12,200 with a €95 application charge; for 2026/2027 it is €13,000 with a €99 charge. That is a 6.6 per cent rise in twelve months for a new student — while a student who started in 2025 keeps paying €12,200. Two prices, same lecture hall.

Six years of tuition, 2026/2027 entry Published annual fee multiplied by six years, in euros Comenius Universityin Bratislava €78,000 Pavol Jozef ŠafárikUniversity in Košice €85,500 Jessenius Faculty ofMedicine in Martin €69,000 Slovak MedicalUniversity, Bratislava €60,000 Pale segment = the €7,500 added if Košice’s €500 annual step applies
Annual fees published by each faculty for the 2026/2027 academic year, multiplied by the six-year standard duration. Košice figure shown with and without the announced €500 annual increase. Compiled September 2026.

What does it cost to live in Bratislava, Košice or Martin?

Budget €400 to €800 a month across Slovakia in 2026, with Bratislava at the top of that range and Martin near the bottom. Accommodation drives almost all of the difference. A place in a university hall of residence, the internát, runs €80 to €150 a month in Bratislava and from about €100 in Martin.

A room in a shared flat is where the cities separate. Bratislava listings for 2026 sit at €300 to €450 for a room; Košice and Martin are smaller markets with correspondingly lower rents, and students there routinely report figures well under the Bratislava floor. Groceries and household spending land between €100 and €220 a month wherever you are, because Slovak food prices do not vary much between regions.

Transport is close to free. A student season ticket in Bratislava, bought as an annual pass, works out at roughly €10 a month; Košice and Martin are cheaper still and both are walkable from the main student housing to the teaching hospitals. Nobody in Martin needs a car.

Health insurance depends entirely on passport. Students from another European Union or European Economic Area country carry the European Health Insurance Card and pay nothing extra. Students from outside the bloc need commercial cover; the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice sets out a twelve-month policy at €276 for the year, which is €23 a month.

Monthly item Bratislava Košice and Martin Basis
University hall of residence€80–150from €1002026 listings
Room in a shared flat€300–450below the Bratislava floor2026 listings
Groceries and household€100–220€100–2202026 listings
Public transport, student passabout €10under €102026 annual pass pricing
Health insurance, non-EU student€23€23€276 annual policy, 2025/2026
Everything else€60–120€60–1202026 listings

Ranges collected September 2026. Rent and grocery bands are market estimates, not rates published by any university. The insurance figure is the policy price set out by the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice for students from outside the European Union.

What does the full six years cost, start to finish?

Around €105,000 for one student in Martin, on a normal budget with no repeated years. Tuition is €69,000 of that. The remaining €36,000 is rent, food, insurance, books and flights home — the part that never appears in a tuition comparison and the part that most often goes wrong.

Here is the model, spelled out. Profile A enters the Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin in 2026/2027, lives in the hall of residence for two years, moves into a shared flat for the remaining four, and flies home three times a year.

Profile A — line item Calculation Six-year total Published or estimated?
Tuition€11,500 × 6€69,000Published, 2026/2027
Entrance and application feeonce€70Published, 2026/2027
Hall of residence, years 1–2€120 × 10 months × 2€2,400Estimated
Shared flat, years 3–6€280 × 12 months × 4€13,440Estimated
Food and household€170 × 12 months × 6€12,240Estimated
Transport€15 × 12 months × 6€1,080Estimated
Health insurance, non-EU€276 × 6€1,656Published policy price
Books, instruments, scrubs€400 × 6€2,400Estimated
Travel home, three trips a year€90 × 3 × 6€1,620Estimated
Deposit, setup, paperworkonce€1,200Estimated
Total€105,106

Model built September 2026 on the published 2026/2027 tuition for the Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin. Rows marked estimated are planning assumptions and should be replaced with real quotes before anyone commits.

Move the same profile to the Comenius University in Bratislava Faculty of Medicine and the total rises by roughly €14,000, of which €9,000 is tuition and the rest is Bratislava rent. That is the honest size of the capital-city premium: real, but smaller than the tuition gap people assume. Compare the four campuses side by side on our universities overview before deciding which city the budget suits.

Where €105,100 goes over six years Profile A, Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin, 2026/2027 entry Tuition — 66% €69,000 Rent, hall then shared flat — 15% €15,840 Food and household — 12% €12,240 Insurance, travel, books, setup — 7% €8,026
Modelled total for one student, built from the 2026/2027 published tuition and 2026 cost ranges for Martin. Non-tuition rows are planning estimates, not published rates.

When does the money actually leave your account?

Not evenly. Slovak faculties charge tuition for the whole academic year in a single transfer before enrolment in late summer, which means the largest payment of the year lands before a single lecture. Planning around that one date is the difference between a comfortable first term and an expensive overdraft.

The rhythm across the first twelve months looks like this:

  1. Spring. The entrance and application charge, €70 to €99 depending on the faculty, paid per programme and not refunded.
  2. Late summer, before enrolment. The full year of tuition, €10,000 to €13,000, in one transfer to the faculty account.
  3. Early September. Deposit, first month of rent, bedding, a desk lamp and a kettle. Roughly €1,200 for a student arriving with two suitcases.
  4. September to November. Residence-permit paperwork for students from outside the European Union, plus the commercial health policy at €276 for the year.
  5. The following summer. Year two of tuition, at the same figure in Bratislava and Martin, and €500 higher in Košice if the announced step applies.

Consulates also want to see money that is not being spent. Applications for a national study visa are assessed against proof of funds, and the sums applicants report being asked to show sit in the low thousands of euros held in an account in the student’s name. That capital is not a cost. It still has to exist.

When the money actually leaves First twelve months, 2026/2027 entry Spring — entrance and application fee €70 to €99, paid once, non-refundable Late summer — the full year of tuition €10,000 to €13,000 before enrolment, not in instalments September — moving in Deposit, first rent, bedding, desk: around €1,200 Autumn — insurance and residence permit €276 a year for a commercial policy outside the EU Next summer — year two The same tuition figure again, or €500 more in Košice
Payment rhythm built from faculty enrolment instructions for 2025/2026 and 2026/2027 and from the insurance requirement published by the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice.

{{cta}}

Is a Slovak medical degree recognised across the European Union?

Yes, automatically. Slovakia joined the European Union on 1 May 2004, and its basic medical qualification is listed in Annex V of Directive 2005/36/EC on the recognition of professional qualifications. Under Article 21 of that directive every member state must recognise the listed diploma without re-examining its academic content.

The Slovak entry is the doktor medicíny diploma with the title MUDr., awarded by a medical faculty together with the certificate of the state examination. The directive sets the floor the programme must clear: Article 24 requires at least five years of study and a minimum of 5,500 hours of theoretical and practical training at a university or under university supervision. The Slovak six-year programme clears it with a year to spare, which is why the diploma sits in the annex in the first place.

Two practical consequences follow. First, the degree is English-taught but not a separate qualification — the English and Slovak streams lead to the same MUDr. and the same annex entry. Second, when a graduate applies abroad the receiving authority will usually ask the Slovak faculty or ministry for a conformity certificate confirming the training met Article 21. Request it at graduation, not two years later from another country.

What automatic recognition does not do is hand anyone a job. It settles the academic question and leaves the professional one open: registration, language, and any national induction period still belong to the country you move to.

What does that mean for working in Germany, Austria, Switzerland or the United Kingdom?

In the three German-speaking countries the qualification travels under the directive and the remaining requirement is almost always language. In the United Kingdom the European route closed with Brexit, and the General Medical Council now assesses graduates of Slovak faculties under its own rules for internationally qualified doctors.

Germany. Licensing is handled by the competent authority of the individual federal state, and an Annex V qualification is recognised on the basis of the directive rather than reassessed. What the states do test is language: general German at B2 level plus a medical language examination at C1, the Fachsprachprüfung, set by the state medical chambers. Start the German long before final year.

Austria. Registration runs through the Austrian Medical Chamber, the Österreichische Ärztekammer, which enters recognised doctors in the Ärzteliste. Graduates then complete the nine-month Basisausbildung before specialty training. German-language competence is required for entry on the list.

Switzerland. Switzerland is not an EU member, but the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons extends Directive 2005/36/EC to Swiss recognition. The Medical Professions Commission, MEBEKO, recognises EU and EFTA medical diplomas and the doctor is then entered in the federal medical register, MedReg. MEBEKO also asks for proof of competence in one national language.

United Kingdom. The General Medical Council decides registration for anyone whose primary medical qualification was awarded outside the United Kingdom. The usual routes are the PLAB assessment or an accepted postgraduate qualification, alongside English-language evidence through IELTS or the Occupational English Test. Because Slovakia does not require a separate pre-registration internship year, applicants aiming at full rather than provisional registration should plan for how they will evidence twelve months of postgraduate clinical experience.

None of these is exotic. They are administrative sequences with published rules, and thousands of doctors complete them every year. Where the sequence for your target country gets specific to your profile, our placement and licensing support is the faster way through it.

What do comparable articles on Slovak tuition leave unanswered?

Four things, consistently. Whether the advertised fee is the whole annual outlay; what a repeated year costs; whether tuition rises during the six years; and what Slovak living costs have done since 2022. Each of them can move a six-year budget by five figures.

The advertised fee is not the annual outlay. Add the application charge of €30 to €99, paid separately for each programme applied to. Add the commercial health policy for non-EU students at €276 a year. Add deposits, a residence-permit file, and the transfer fees a bank takes on an international payment of €13,000. None of these is large on its own. Together they are the first year’s books and rent.

A repeated year is a repeated year of tuition. Slovak faculties price studies by academic year, not by credit. A student who does not progress and repeats a year pays that year’s full fee again, which is €11,500 in Martin or €13,000 in Bratislava and Košice for 2026/2027, and adds a year of living costs on top — realistically €17,000 to €19,000 for one repeat. Universities also set separate charges for exceeding the standard length of study. Anyone budgeting to the euro should carry a contingency line, not a hope.

Tuition can rise during the six years, and the answer differs by faculty. Comenius University in Bratislava fixes it in writing for the standard duration. Košice publishes a €500 annual step. Martin and the Slovak Medical University publish neither a guarantee nor an increase. That is not a small difference in wording; over six years it is the gap between €78,000 and €85,500.

The cost of living is not what it was in 2022. Slovak consumer prices rose 12.8 per cent in 2022 and a further 11.0 per cent in 2023 on the harmonised index published by Eurostat, and the standard rate of value added tax went from 20 to 23 per cent on 1 January 2025 under the government’s consolidation package. A monthly budget copied from a 2021 forum post understates today’s rent and grocery bills by a wide margin. Read cost pages with their publication date visible, including this one. Students writing about their own current spending, as in our student stories, are usually the fastest reality check.

Can earlier study reduce the number of years you pay for?

Often, yes — and it is the single largest lever on the total. Every year of the programme that a candidate does not have to sit is a year of tuition and a year of living costs removed from the six-year figure. For a Martin entrant that is roughly €17,500 per year saved.

Medschool Experts is the world’s leading specialist in credit-recognition placements for healthcare graduates, and regularly achieves year 4 or year 5 entry at top universities worldwide. Whether an existing degree, completed semesters or professional healthcare training can be brought to bear depends entirely on the individual file and the receiving university, and it is assessed case by case rather than by rule of thumb. Bring the transcript. free consultation

The author’s view

I studied dentistry in Sofia between 2015 and 2021 and I practise in Switzerland today, so the arithmetic on this page is not abstract to me. I remember the version of it I did at nineteen, on paper, and I remember getting one part badly wrong: I priced the tuition carefully and the rest of my life casually. The tuition was the easy number. It arrived once a year, it was printed on a page, and I could plan around it. Everything else arrived weekly and quietly.

That is why I push people towards the six-year total rather than the annual fee. A €1,500 difference in tuition between two faculties looks decisive on a comparison table and is often smaller than the difference in what a city costs to live in, or than one repeated year. From Bern I now spend a lot of time on the other end of this — graduates getting registered in a target country — and the students who arrive there calmly are almost always the ones whose budget had a contingency line in it from the start.

In our placements at Medschool Experts, over more than 500 study places, the question that separates a good decision from an anxious one is rarely the price. It is whether the family knew the price. Get the faculty to put the fee and its six-year status in writing, price the city honestly, and Slovakia becomes a very rational way to hold a European Union medical degree.

Summary

  • English-taught general medicine in Slovakia costs €10,000 to €13,000 per academic year for the 2026/2027 intake, across four faculties.
  • The Comenius University in Bratislava Faculty of Medicine charges €13,000 and guarantees the same figure for all six years; the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice charges €13,000 with an announced €500 annual step.
  • The Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin publishes €11,500 a year and the Slovak Medical University in Bratislava €10,000, the lowest of the four.
  • Living costs run €400 to €800 a month in 2026, with a hall of residence from about €80 and a room in a Bratislava shared flat at €300 to €450.
  • A worked six-year total for one student in Martin comes to about €105,100, of which €69,000 is tuition and €36,100 is everything else.
  • Tuition is charged for a whole academic year in one transfer before enrolment in late summer, not spread across the year.
  • A repeated year costs a full year of tuition again plus a year of living costs — roughly €17,000 to €19,000.
  • The MUDr. diploma is listed in Annex V of Directive 2005/36/EC and is recognised automatically across the European Union; target-country registration and language requirements remain separate.

Conclusion

Slovakia prices a European Union medical degree at a level that a six-year plan can absorb, and it publishes enough of its numbers that the plan can be built on figures rather than guesses. The gaps that remain are worth closing in writing with the faculty before any money moves.

Which of the four faculties fits a given profile and budget is a question with a specific answer, not a general one. Bring your figures and your file to a free consultation.

Frequently Asked Questions about the cost of studying medicine in Slovakia

How much is one year of medicine in Slovakia in 2026?

Between €10,000 and €13,000 for the 2026/2027 academic year, depending on the faculty. The Comenius University in Bratislava Faculty of Medicine and the Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice both publish €13,000. The Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin publishes €11,500 for two semesters. The Slovak Medical University in Bratislava carries €10,000 on its published programme information, the lowest figure of the four.

Does tuition stay the same for all six years?

It depends on the faculty, and this is worth confirming in writing. Comenius University in Bratislava states that a student pays the same fee each academic year for the standard six-year duration. The Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice publishes an annual increase of €500 alongside its €13,000 rate. Martin and the Slovak Medical University publish neither a guarantee nor a scheduled rise.

What does living in Slovakia cost a medical student per month?

Roughly €400 to €800 a month in 2026. A place in a university hall of residence starts around €80 to €100; a room in a shared Bratislava flat runs €300 to €450, and Košice and Martin sit below that. Groceries take €100 to €220. A student transport pass costs about €10 a month when bought annually in Bratislava.

What is the total cost of the whole six-year degree?

A worked model for one student at the Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin, entering in 2026/2027 and living in a hall for two years then a shared flat, comes to about €105,100. Tuition accounts for €69,000 and everything else — rent, food, insurance, books, transport and flights home — for roughly €36,100. The same profile in Bratislava adds about €14,000.

Is a Slovak medical degree valid in Germany and the rest of the European Union?

Yes. Slovakia has been a European Union member state since 1 May 2004, and its doktor medicíny qualification with the MUDr. title is listed in Annex V of Directive 2005/36/EC. Article 21 obliges every member state to recognise listed qualifications automatically, without re-examining academic content. Registration, language certification and any national induction period are handled separately by the country where the doctor wants to practise.

Do I need private health insurance as a student in Slovakia?

Students from another European Union or European Economic Area country use the European Health Insurance Card and pay nothing additional. Students from outside the bloc need commercial cover for the duration of their residence permit. The Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice sets out a twelve-month policy priced at €276, which works out at €23 a month over the year.

What happens financially if I have to repeat a year?

Slovak faculties charge by academic year rather than by credit, so a repeated year means paying that year’s tuition again in full — €11,500 in Martin or €13,000 in Bratislava and Košice at 2026/2027 rates. Add another year of rent, food and insurance and one repeat lands somewhere between €17,000 and €19,000. Universities may also charge separately for exceeding the standard length of study.

Can previous study shorten the programme and lower the total?

It frequently can, and it is the biggest single saving available, because each year removed takes roughly €17,500 of tuition and living costs with it. Medschool Experts is the world’s leading specialist in credit-recognition placements for healthcare graduates and regularly achieves year 4 or year 5 entry at top universities worldwide. What applies to a particular transcript is assessed individually in a free individual consultation.

Your question · answer by email
Still have a question?
Write it here. I'll respond by email and, if it helps others, include it anonymously in the Q&A for this article.
Thanks — your question has arrived. You will get an answer by email, usually within two working days.
That didn't work, unfortunately. Please try again or contact us using the contact form.
We use your email address solely to reply to your question. No sharing with third parties, no newsletter.
★★★★★

What students say about Medschool Experts

Over 500 placements at more than 25 partner universities across 10+ countries. Read independent student reviews on Trustpilot.

Read reviews on Trustpilot

About the author

Marcel Kloos

Swiss-licensed dentist and founder of Medschool Experts

Marcel Kloos founded Medschool Experts while studying abroad; since then, over 500 study places have been secured. The Stuttgart-born dentist studied dentistry from 2015 to 2021 in Sofia and holds a Swiss dental licence.

Today he lives in Bern and runs Medschool Experts full-time as its owner.

More articles worth reading

Why Students Transfer from Medical University of Varna — Your Options

Study Transfer

13 Min. Lesezeit

Why Students Transfer from Medical University of Varna — Your Options

Marcel Kloos

Marcel Kloos

11.09.2026

Read article
Why Students Transfer from Medical University of Warsaw — Your Options

Study Transfer

14 Min. Lesezeit

Why Students Transfer from Medical University of Warsaw — Your Options

Marcel Kloos

Marcel Kloos

11.09.2026

Read article
Why Students Transfer from Masaryk University Faculty of Medicine — Your Options

Study Transfer

13 Min. Lesezeit

Why Students Transfer from Masaryk University Faculty of Medicine — Your Options

Marcel Kloos

Marcel Kloos

11.09.2026

Read article
View all articles
Portrait photo of Ahmad, Medschool Experts client

Ahmad

Portrait photo of Sabrina, Medschool Experts client

Sabrina

Portrait photo of Rami, Medschool Experts client

Rami

Portrait photo of Noah, Medschool Experts client

Noah

500+ students placed.
Now it's your turn!

No daydreaming, no empty promises. Just a clear plan — for the start of your medical degree.

Book a free consultation
  • 40 minutes, no obligation