Studying Physiotherapy in English in Europe in 2026: Programmes, Costs and Recognition
22.09.2026
Where can you study physiotherapy in English in Europe in 2026?
Physiotherapy bachelor's degrees taught in English in Europe in 2026 run at Semmelweis University in Budapest and the University of Pécs in Hungary, the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences in Kaunas, Palacký University Olomouc in the Czech Republic, the University of Malta, and the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands. Each of those six universities publishes its own 2026/2027 fee.
That list is shorter than the aggregator sites suggest, because the English label is easy to misread. Rīga Stradiņš University in Latvia shows why. Its own tuition fee page for studies in English, for the 2026/2027 year, lists Medicine at EUR 13,500 per year and Dentistry at EUR 15,500 per year, plus a Health Management MSc and a Health Care doctorate. Physiotherapy in English is not on it. The Latvian-language physiotherapy degree exists in Riga. The English one does not.
Every programme in the table below was checked against the university's own admissions page in September 2026, and every figure is the one that university publishes for the 2026/2027 intake. Our partner university overview covers the wider picture across medicine, dentistry and the health sciences.
| University and faculty | Country | Institution type | Length | Published tuition, 2026/2027 | One-off fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lithuanian University of Health Sciences, Kaunas, Faculty of Nursing | Lithuania | University | 4 years, 240 ECTS | EUR 4,201 per year | EUR 150 application fee |
| University of Pécs, Faculty of Health Sciences | Hungary | University | 4 years, 8 semesters | EUR 2,900 per semester | EUR 200 application fee |
| Semmelweis University, Budapest, Faculty of Health Sciences | Hungary | University | 4 years, 8 semesters | EUR 4,050 per semester | EUR 340 admission procedure fee, EUR 230 enrolment fee |
| Palacký University Olomouc, Faculty of Health Sciences | Czech Republic | University | 4 years | EUR 8,000 per year | EUR 60 per application |
| University of Malta | Malta | University | 4 years, 240 ECTS | EUR 10,800 per year, non-EU rate | Not stated on the course page |
| Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, European School of Physiotherapy | Netherlands | University of applied sciences | 3 years | EUR 2,694 statutory rate or EUR 10,648 institutional rate per year | Not stated on the programme page |
Sources: the admissions and tuition pages of each university, read September 2026, for the 2026/2027 academic year.
How long does a physiotherapy bachelor's degree in Europe take?
A physiotherapy bachelor's degree in Europe takes three or four years in 2026. Semmelweis University in Budapest, the University of Pécs, the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences in Kaunas, Palacký University Olomouc and the University of Malta all run four years. The European School of Physiotherapy at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences runs three.
Where the credit load is published, the four-year degrees carry 240 ECTS: the University of Malta states 240 ECTS over four years, and the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences states the same. In the Hungarian pattern the four years are described as eight semesters. The last stretch of every one of these programmes is clinical, spent in hospitals, rehabilitation centres and outpatient practices rather than lecture halls.
The gap matters later. A shorter degree is not a weaker degree, but when a host country compares your training under the general system of recognition, total duration and content are two of the things it looks at. One year is a visible difference.
What does studying physiotherapy in English in Europe cost in 2026/2027?
Tuition for a physiotherapy degree taught in English in Europe in 2026/2027 ranges from EUR 2,694 per year at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences on the Dutch statutory rate to EUR 10,800 per year at the University of Malta on the non-EU rate. Across a whole programme that is a spread of roughly EUR 8,000 to EUR 43,000.
The Dutch figure needs one line of explanation. The Netherlands operates two fee levels, and the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences publishes both for 2026-2027: EUR 2,694 for students who meet the conditions for the statutory fee, which in practice covers students from the European Union and the European Economic Area, and EUR 10,648 for everyone else. The same three-year programme therefore costs either about EUR 8,082 or about EUR 31,944 in total, depending entirely on your nationality and residence status.
Notice what the chart does not show. Living costs are not in it, and in a four-year programme they usually exceed tuition. Budapest, Kaunas and Olomouc are cheaper cities to live in than Amsterdam or Valletta, which reverses part of the ranking above.
What is the full four-year cost of the Physiotherapy BSc at Semmelweis University in Budapest?
The published university charges for the four-year Physiotherapy BSc in English at Semmelweis University in Budapest come to EUR 32,970 for the 2026/2027 intake. That is EUR 4,050 per semester across eight semesters, which is EUR 32,400 of tuition, plus a EUR 340 admission procedure fee and a EUR 230 enrolment fee payable at the start of studies.
| Item | Basis | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Admission procedure fee, including the entrance examination | Once | EUR 340 | Published by the university, 2026/2027 |
| Enrolment fee | Once, at the start of studies | EUR 230 | Published by the university, 2026/2027 |
| Tuition | EUR 4,050 × 8 semesters | EUR 32,400 | Published by the university, 2026/2027 |
| Total university charges | 4 years | EUR 32,970 | Sum of the three rows above |
| Living costs in Budapest | 48 months | Budget separately | Planning line, not a published figure |
We deliberately leave the living-cost line blank rather than filling it with a number nobody published. Rent in Budapest moves, and a figure invented today would be wrong by the time you enrol. Ask the university's international office for its current cost-of-living guidance, or ask us, and build the number from actual quotes for rooms in the districts near the Faculty of Health Sciences.
One more thing the total hides: fees are usually payable per semester, not per year. That is helpful for cash flow and unhelpful for comparison shopping, because a per-semester figure looks like half of what the year actually costs.
What is the difference between a university and a university of applied sciences physiotherapy degree?
A university physiotherapy degree and a university of applied sciences physiotherapy degree are both Bologna first-cycle bachelor's degrees, and both can lead to practice. The difference is orientation and, usually, length: Semmelweis University, the University of Pécs, the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences, Palacký University Olomouc and the University of Malta each run four academic years, while the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences runs a three-year honours bachelor's programme.
University
Sits inside a medical or health-sciences faculty. Four years in every case above, 240 ECTS where the credit load is published. Research methods are part of the curriculum, and the degree is the standard entry point to a taught master's and then a doctorate at the same institution. Examples: Semmelweis University in Budapest, Palacký University Olomouc, the University of Malta.
University of applied sciences
Professionally oriented by design, with practice placements as the spine of the programme. The European School of Physiotherapy at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences is English-taught over three years and states that its graduates can work as physiotherapists in an international setting. Dutch fee law applies, so the same seat costs EUR 2,694 or EUR 10,648 a year.
For recognition purposes, the institution's label is not what a foreign authority examines. Under the general system of Directive 2005/36/EC the competent authority looks at the content and the duration of your training against its own requirements. A four-year 240-ECTS degree and a three-year degree are not identical inputs to that comparison, and the authority is entitled to say so.
The label does matter for two other things. Master's admission rules sometimes distinguish between the two institution types, and so do some national salary and grading scales for public health services. Check both before you choose, not after.
Why is physiotherapy not covered by automatic recognition under Directive 2005/36/EC?
Physiotherapy is not covered by automatic recognition because Chapter III of Title III of Directive 2005/36/EC lists only seven professions for that treatment: doctors, nurses responsible for general care, dental practitioners, veterinary surgeons, midwives, pharmacists and architects. For those seven, the European Union coordinated minimum training conditions. Physiotherapy was never brought into that coordination, so it is handled under the general system in Chapter I of Title III instead.
This is a difference in mechanism, not a difference in standing. Under Article 13(1), where access to a regulated profession in a host Member State depends on holding particular qualifications, the competent authority of that state shall permit access to applicants who hold the attestation of competence or evidence of formal qualifications required by another Member State. Article 4(1) then says what recognition does: it allows the holder to take up the same profession in the host state and to pursue it under the same conditions as that state's own nationals.
So the right is real. It is simply exercised through an individual comparison rather than through an automatic entry in an annex. That comparison is the whole subject of the next two sections.
What are compensation measures, and when can a host country require them?
Compensation measures are what a host country may require under Article 14 of Directive 2005/36/EC when it finds that a physiotherapist's training covered substantially different matters from its own. There are two of them: an adaptation period of supervised professional practice, which may run up to three years, or an aptitude test of professional knowledge, skills and competences.
Article 14(4) defines what substantially different matters means. The knowledge or skill in question has to be essential for pursuing the profession, and the training you completed has to show significant differences in content from what the host country requires. A missing elective is not a substantial difference. A missing clinical field might be.
Article 14(2) contains the provision that is easiest to overlook and most useful to know. Member States must offer the applicant the choice between an adaptation period and an aptitude test. A state that wants to depart from that has to notify the European Commission in advance and justify it, and Article 14(3) sets out the narrow derogations, chiefly professions whose practice requires precise knowledge of national law.
How long does a recognition decision take in the European Union?
Article 51(2) of Directive 2005/36/EC gives the competent authority three months from receipt of a complete application to reach a decision, with an extension of one month for cases falling under Chapters I and II of Title III. Physiotherapy sits in Chapter I, the general system, so the outer limit for a physiotherapist is four months.
Two words in that sentence carry most of the weight. Complete application. The clock starts when the authority has everything it asked for, not when you first write to it, which is why translations, certified copies and course descriptions are worth assembling before the file goes in rather than after. Any compensation measure the authority then requires runs on top of the four months.
Plan on a year from graduation to a first registered post in another country, and you will rarely be caught out. Plan on six weeks and you will.
{{cta}}How do you register as a physiotherapist in the United Kingdom with the HCPC?
Physiotherapists who trained outside the United Kingdom register with the Health and Care Professions Council through its international application route. The HCPC sets that route for people who completed their professional training and practised outside the United Kingdom and have not been registered with it before. The scrutiny fee is a one-off, non-refundable payment of GBP 678.38, and the application is not submitted until it is paid.
Physiotherapist is a title protected in United Kingdom law, and the HCPC is the statutory regulator for it. The assessment is about whether your training and experience meet the HCPC standards of proficiency for physiotherapists. That is a comparison exercise, in the same family as the general system comparison in the European Union, run under a different statute and against a published set of standards.
| Step | Who sets it | Cost or timescale | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| HCPC international application, scrutiny fee | Health and Care Professions Council, United Kingdom | GBP 678.38, one-off, non-refundable | 2026 |
| Recognition decision, general system | Competent authority of the host EU Member State | 3 months, extendable by 1 month, so 4 months | Directive 2005/36/EC, Article 51(2) |
| Adaptation period, if required | Competent authority of the host EU Member State | Supervised practice, up to 3 years | Directive 2005/36/EC, Article 14(1) |
| Aptitude test, if chosen instead | Competent authority of the host EU Member State | Assessment of professional knowledge, skills and competences | Directive 2005/36/EC, Article 14(2) |
What does taught in English actually mean on a physiotherapy programme page?
On a European physiotherapy programme page, taught in English can mean three genuinely different things in 2026: English from the first day to graduation, English for the first years and the national language later, or an English-language stream at a university whose physiotherapy degree is otherwise national. Reading which one you are looking at is the single most useful thing you can do before applying.
Palacký University Olomouc states that its four-year physiotherapy bachelor's programme is taught entirely in English. That is the first kind. The Universidad Europea in Madrid publishes the second kind plainly: its four-year, 240-ECTS physiotherapy degree at the Villaviciosa de Odón campus is delivered in English for the first two years and in Spanish from year three onwards, with a B2 requirement in the language you choose. Both descriptions are honest. They are simply not the same offer.
Then there is the clinical year, which sits outside the brochure. Placements happen in the country's own hospitals, with the country's own patients, and patients speak the local language. A programme can be fully English-taught in its lectures and still expect you to reach a working level of Hungarian, Czech, Lithuanian or Dutch before the ward rounds begin. Ask the international office three questions: which language the lectures use in each year, which language the placements use, and whether a language course is part of the curriculum or something you arrange yourself.
What does the timeline from first enquiry to a registered post look like?
From a first serious enquiry to a registered physiotherapy post in another European country, the realistic span is about five years for a four-year degree: roughly nine to twelve months of preparation and application before enrolment, four academic years, then up to four months for a recognition decision under Article 51(2) of Directive 2005/36/EC, plus any compensation measure.
The months below are a planning rhythm, not any university's published calendar. Deadlines differ by university and by your own profile, so we assess those individually in a free individual consultation rather than publishing a date that would be wrong for most readers.
12 to 9 months before enrolment. Shortlist countries, not just universities. Decide whether you want a four-year university degree or a three-year degree at a university of applied sciences, and decide where you eventually want to practise, because that is the country whose recognition rules you will meet.
9 to 6 months before. Get the English certificate booked and sat. Gather school transcripts and have the translations certified. Confirm the fee for your intake year directly with the university, since the figures in this table are 2026/2027 and universities reset them annually.
6 to 3 months before. Apply, sit any entrance assessment, and start the residence permit file the moment you hold an acceptance letter. Permit processing is the step that most often decides whether you start in September or in February.
Years 1 to 4. Keep every syllabus, every module description and every placement log. Six years later a competent authority will ask what your training contained, and a complete file is what converts Article 51(2) from a theoretical four months into an actual four months.
Final semester onwards. File for recognition in your target country, or open the HCPC international application if that country is the United Kingdom. Budget four months for the European decision and the GBP 678.38 scrutiny fee for the British one.
Our placement and application services cover the middle of that timeline, from shortlist to enrolment.
Can a physiotherapy degree count towards a medical degree later?
Credit recognition from a physiotherapy degree towards a medical programme is assessed individually, record by record, by the university that would admit you. Anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pathology and the clinical practice hours in a physiotherapy curriculum are the subjects that most often carry across, and a completed bachelor's degree is a considerably stronger starting file than a few semesters of an unfinished one.
Medschool Experts is the leading specialist in credit-recognition placements for healthcare graduates. We work with the world's largest choice of official partner universities, and high placements are common in our work, often into year 4 or year 5 at top universities worldwide. Every record is assessed individually, because that is the only way a transcript comparison can be done: your modules, your hours, your clinical documentation, against the specific curriculum of the specific medical faculty.
What that means in practice is that nobody can tell you your entry point from a description of your degree alone. It takes the transcript. Send it to us and we will tell you what the partner universities can do with it, in a free consultation.
The author's view
I studied dentistry in English at the Medical University of Sofia between 2015 and 2021, and I am now a federally recognised dentist in Switzerland, where I live in Bern. Dentistry sits inside the automatic recognition list in Directive 2005/36/EC and physiotherapy does not, and I have watched what that difference feels like from both sides of the desk. My own recognition was a paperwork exercise against a fixed annex. A physiotherapist's is a conversation about content.
That is less frightening than it sounds, and I would rather people heard it as arithmetic than as a warning. Four months is the legal outer limit for a decision on a complete file. If a gap is found, Article 14(2) puts the choice of how to close it in your hands. The people who find this straightforward kept every syllabus from their first semester, because the authority's question is about documents.
Where I would spend the most time before applying is the language question, and specifically the clinical year. In Sofia our lectures were in English and our patients were Bulgarian, and the students who took the language seriously in year one had a very different final two years. At Medschool Experts we have placed more than 500 study places, and the physiotherapy graduates who come to us later about medicine are almost always the ones with clean documentation.
Summary
- Physiotherapy bachelor's degrees taught in English in Europe in 2026 run at Semmelweis University in Budapest, the University of Pécs, the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences in Kaunas, Palacký University Olomouc, the University of Malta and the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences.
- Published 2026/2027 tuition ranges from EUR 2,694 per year at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences on the Dutch statutory rate to EUR 10,800 per year at the University of Malta on the non-EU rate.
- The four-year Physiotherapy BSc in English at Semmelweis University in Budapest totals EUR 32,970 in university charges for the 2026/2027 intake: EUR 4,050 per semester across eight semesters, plus a EUR 340 admission procedure fee and a EUR 230 enrolment fee.
- Programme length is three or four years. The five university programmes above run four years, and the European School of Physiotherapy at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences runs three.
- Physiotherapy is not one of the seven professions in Chapter III of Title III of Directive 2005/36/EC that receive automatic recognition, so it goes through the general system in Chapter I instead.
- Under Article 14 of Directive 2005/36/EC a host country that finds substantially different matters may require an adaptation period of up to three years or an aptitude test, and Article 14(2) gives the applicant the choice between the two.
- Article 51(2) of Directive 2005/36/EC gives the competent authority three months from a complete application, extendable by one month for general-system cases, so four months for physiotherapists.
- Registration in the United Kingdom runs through the Health and Care Professions Council international route, with a one-off, non-refundable scrutiny fee of GBP 678.38 in 2026.
Conclusion
Physiotherapy in English in Europe is one of the better-value clinical degrees on the continent, and the recognition framework around it is written down rather than left to chance. The general system asks for an individual comparison instead of handing out automatic entry, and it gives the authority a four-month deadline and you a choice of compensation measure if one is needed.
Which programme fits depends on where you want to work afterwards, what language you are willing to add, and whether a medical degree is somewhere on the horizon. Send us your school results or your transcript and we will go through the options with you in a free consultation with Marcel or another experienced consultant on our team.
Frequently asked questions about studying physiotherapy in English in Europe
Does the European Union recognise physiotherapy qualifications automatically?
No. Chapter III of Title III of Directive 2005/36/EC grants automatic recognition to seven professions only: doctors, nurses responsible for general care, dental practitioners, veterinary surgeons, midwives, pharmacists and architects. Physiotherapy is not among them, so a physiotherapy qualification is recognised through the general system in Chapter I, where the host country compares your training with its own and decides.
Is a physiotherapy degree from Hungary valid in Germany or Austria?
A physiotherapy degree from Semmelweis University in Budapest or the University of Pécs is recognised in other European Union states through the general system of Directive 2005/36/EC, not automatically. The German or Austrian competent authority compares the training and may require a compensation measure under Article 14 if it identifies substantially different matters. Article 4(1) then grants access on the same terms as nationals.
How much does HCPC registration cost for an international physiotherapist?
The Health and Care Professions Council charges a one-off, non-refundable scrutiny fee of GBP 678.38 for an international application, as published in 2026. It is paid at the end of the online application, and the application is not submitted until the payment goes through.
Is a three-year physiotherapy degree worth the same as a four-year one?
Both are Bologna first-cycle bachelor's degrees and both can lead to registered practice. Under the general system of Directive 2005/36/EC a host country examines the content and duration of your training, so a one-year difference is visible in that comparison. Whether it triggers a compensation measure under Article 14 depends on whether the missing content is essential in that country.
Do I need to learn the local language if the programme is in English?
Usually yes, for the clinical part. Lectures at Palacký University Olomouc are delivered entirely in English, but placements happen in the country's own hospitals with the country's own patients. Some programmes include a language course and some leave it to you. The Universidad Europea in Madrid switches its physiotherapy degree from English to Spanish from year three.
What entry requirements do European physiotherapy programmes set?
Requirements vary by university and by your individual profile, and they change between intakes, so we do not publish thresholds that would be wrong for most readers. Book a free individual consultation and we assess your case directly: your school results, your subjects, your language certificates and the countries you are considering, against what each partner university currently asks for.
Can I move from physiotherapy into medicine later?
Yes, and credit recognition towards a medical programme is assessed individually by the admitting university. Anatomy, physiology, biochemistry and documented clinical hours from a physiotherapy curriculum are the elements that most often transfer. Medschool Experts is the leading specialist in credit-recognition placements for healthcare graduates, with the world's largest choice of official partner universities, and high placements into year 4 or year 5 are common. Send your transcript for a free consultation.
Which English-taught physiotherapy programme in Europe is cheapest in 2026/2027?
Of the programmes verified against university pages for 2026/2027, the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences in Kaunas has the lowest full-programme tuition at EUR 4,201 per year over four years, which is EUR 16,804. The Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences is lower at EUR 2,694 per year for three years, but only for students who qualify for the Dutch statutory fee.
What students say about Medschool Experts
Over 500 placements at more than 25 partner universities across 10+ countries. Read independent student reviews on Trustpilot.
About the author

Marcel Kloos
Swiss-licensed dentist and founder of Medschool Experts
Marcel Kloos founded Medschool Experts while studying abroad; since then, over 500 study places have been secured. The Stuttgart-born dentist studied dentistry from 2015 to 2021 in Sofia and holds a Swiss dental licence.
Today he lives in Bern and runs Medschool Experts full-time as its owner.
More articles worth reading
Biology or Chemistry Degree to Medicine: Credit Transfer into a Higher Semester at European Universities
UK-Bangladeshi Heritage: How Your EU Medical Degree Is Recognised in the UK and in Bangladesh
Irish Heritage in the UK: How Medical Degree Recognition Works in Both Countries

Ahmad

Sabrina

Rami

Noah
500+ students placed.
Now it's your turn!
No daydreaming, no empty promises. Just a clear plan — for the start of your medical degree.
40 minutes, no obligation