Cost of Studying Medicine in Ireland 2026: Tuition and Living Expenses
24.09.2026
What does it actually cost to study medicine in Ireland in 2026?
Tuition for a non-EU student runs from €52,100 a year at University College Cork to €62,500 a year at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland on the 2026/27 schedules. Add living costs of roughly €12,000 to €29,000 a year depending on the city, plus about €1,000 a year for insurance and the residence permit. An Irish or EU student on the Free Fees Initiative pays the student contribution of up to €2,500 and little else. Same lecture theatre, different invoice.
So the honest spread for a whole degree is wide. Five years in Galway for an EU student sits near €109,000 all-in. A six-year route in Dublin for a non-EU student lands near €559,000. Both are real 2026 prices, and the line items in between are where students get caught out.
Which six medical schools are there in the Republic of Ireland, and how long is each programme?
There are six: the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, University College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, University College Cork, University of Galway and University of Limerick. Five run an undergraduate programme of five years, sometimes six with a pre-medical year. All six offer a four-year graduate entry route. University of Limerick runs graduate entry only.
Length is a cost multiplier before it is anything else. The graduate entry programmes compress the same basic medical education into four years, which is why their per-year fee sits above the undergraduate rate at the same university: University College Cork charges €52,100 for five years and €56,100 for four in 2026/27. Four short years still beat six long ones.
Healthcare graduates ask a different question: how much of a previous degree counts. Medschool Experts is the world's leading specialist in credit-recognition placements for healthcare graduates, and we regularly achieve year 4 or year 5 entry at top universities worldwide for paramedics, physiotherapists, biomedical scientists, pharmacists and laboratory technicians. What can be recognised depends on your transcript and the receiving university, assessed case by case. free consultation
How much is non-EU tuition for medicine in Ireland for 2026 entry?
Between €52,100 and €62,500 per year, per the 2026/27 fee schedules. University College Cork is cheapest. The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland sits at the top of the band. Education in Ireland, the Irish state's international education body, published a national band of €50,135 to €62,500 for non-EU undergraduate medicine and health sciences in 2025/26, which brackets every school in the country.
| Medical school | Programme | Length | Non-EU tuition per year | Year published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University College Cork | Medicine, MB BCh BAO (CK701) | 5 years | €52,100 plus €210 capitation | 2026/27 |
| University of Galway | Medicine, MB BCh BAO (GY501) | 5 years | €55,000 | 2026/27 |
| University College Cork | Medicine, graduate entry (CK791) | 4 years | €56,100 plus €210 capitation | 2026/27 |
| University of Limerick | Medicine, graduate entry | 4 years | €56,496 plus €104 levy | 2026/27 |
| Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland | Medicine, undergraduate | 5 or 6 years | €62,000 plus €135 National University of Ireland fee | 2027/28 entry |
| Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland | Medicine, graduate entry | 4 years | €62,500 | 2026/27 |
| University College Dublin and Trinity College Dublin | Medicine, undergraduate and graduate entry | 4 to 6 years | Within the national band of €50,135 to €62,500 published by Education in Ireland for medicine and health sciences | 2025/26 |
Two details matter more than the headline. University College Cork states that €750 of its annual medicine fee is a clinical contribution, so the teaching-hospital element sits inside the number rather than beside it. The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland writes into its fee page that non-EU fees rise by roughly 2 per cent a year, which over six years turns €62,000 into a cumulative bill near €391,000 rather than a flat €372,000.
University College Dublin and Trinity College Dublin publish non-EU schedules through live fee databases rather than static pages, and no specific medicine figure could be read from them in September 2026. Both sit inside the national band above. For a precise current figure, ask us in a free individual consultation.
What do EU and Irish students pay, and what is the student contribution charge?
An EU student who qualifies for the Free Fees Initiative pays no tuition on an eligible undergraduate medicine programme. The state pays it. What the student meets is the student contribution, capped at €2,500 for 2026/27 after Budget 2026 made a €500 reduction permanent, plus small university levies.
University of Galway gives the clearest 2026/27 breakdown: tuition of €4,768 covered by the state, a contribution of €2,500 and a levy of €140. The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland put its 2025/26 EU total at €3,490, being the €2,500 contribution, a €475 information technology fee, €380 for health screening and a €135 National University of Ireland fee. With a SUSI grant covering the contribution, that drops to €990.
Eligibility is narrower than people assume. Citizens Information sets three conditions: citizenship of an EEA state, Switzerland or the United Kingdom; residence in one of those countries for at least three of the five years before the course starts; and a first undergraduate course of at least two years. Miss the residence test and you pay the EU non-Free-Fees rate, published by the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland at €6,267 for 2025/26.
Graduate entry is a separate world. Free Fees does not cover it. EU graduate entry tuition was €15,080 a year at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland for 2025/26 and €15,820 at University of Limerick, so an EU-status four-year degree costs roughly €60,000 to €64,000 in tuition alone.
How much does living in Dublin cost compared with Cork, Galway and Limerick?
Dublin costs roughly double Limerick. University College Dublin budgets a median of €2,445 a month for an international student, with a low case of €1,735 and a high case of €4,035, in an estimate updated in April 2026. University College Cork puts a Cork student between €1,240 and €1,880 a month all-in. The University of Limerick student guide lands at €1,000 to €1,200.
| Cost item, per month | Dublin (median) | Cork | Limerick |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accommodation | €1,200 | €700 to €900 | €650 to €900 |
| Utilities | €135 | €30 to €50 | included in most student rents |
| Food | €490 | €250 to €350 | €160 to €240 |
| Local travel | €75 | €65 to €85 | €1 to €2 per bus trip |
| Books, printing, materials | €120 | €75 | not separately stated |
| Phone and internet | €45 | €20 | not separately stated |
| Personal and social | €120 | €200 to €300 | not separately stated |
| All-in monthly total | €2,445 (range €1,735 to €4,035) | €1,240 to €1,880 | €1,000 to €1,200 |
| Source and year | University College Dublin, updated April 2026 | University College Cork international student guide, 2026 | University of Limerick student guide, 2026 |
The gap is almost entirely rent. The Residential Tenancies Board recorded standardised average monthly rents for new tenancies in Q4 2025 of €2,232 across County Dublin, €1,834 in Galway City, €1,814 in Limerick City and €1,756 in Cork City. Those are whole-dwelling figures, not rooms, and almost every medical student shares. The ranking still holds.
One practical adjustment. Medical students do not live on a nine-month calendar: clinical years run longer and rotations can sit outside the city you rent in. Budget eleven months. Over six years in Dublin that assumption alone moves the total by more than €30,000.
What do health insurance and the immigration registration fee add?
About €1,000 a year for a non-EU student, every year. Private medical insurance is a condition of the Irish student permission, and Education in Ireland puts the market range at €300 to €1,500 a year. University College Dublin budgets €690. The Irish Residence Permit costs €300 at first registration and €300 at each renewal. It renews every year.
The visa side has its own arithmetic. Immigration Service Delivery requires evidence of at least €10,000 available per year of study, on top of the fees. Students hold Stamp 2 permission, allowing 20 hours of casual work a week in term and 40 hours in the holiday windows of June to September and 15 December to 15 January. Citizens Information notes a seven-year cap on higher education study with an explicit exception for medical students.
EU and EEA students skip all of this. A European Health Insurance Card gives access to Irish public health services, no residence permit is needed, and there is no proof-of-funds threshold. Across six years that difference is worth roughly €6,000.
What does a full six-year and a full four-year degree cost in total?
A non-EU student on a six-year Dublin route should plan for about €559,000 across the whole degree at 2026 prices. A non-EU student on a four-year graduate entry route in Limerick comes in near €279,000. An EU-status student on that same Limerick programme pays about €113,000, and an EU student with Free Fees eligibility on the five-year Galway programme lands near €109,000.
| Cost line | Non-EU, six years, Dublin | Non-EU, four years, Limerick | EU, four years, Limerick |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, whole programme | €391,100 (€62,000 in year one, rising about 2 per cent a year) | €225,984 (€56,496 × 4) | €63,280 (€15,820 × 4) |
| Living costs | €161,400 (11 months × €2,445) | €48,400 (11 months × €1,100) | €48,400 (11 months × €1,100) |
| Private health insurance | €4,140 (€690 × 6) | €2,760 (€690 × 4) | not required, European Health Insurance Card applies |
| Irish Residence Permit | €1,800 (€300 × 6) | €1,200 (€300 × 4) | not required |
| Equipment, screening, levies | €760 laptop plus €135 National University of Ireland fee | €600 tablet, €350 health screening, €416 levy | €600 tablet, €350 health screening, €416 levy |
| Total, 2026 prices | about €559,000 | about €279,000 | about €113,000 |
Read the six-year column carefully, because it holds the compounding assumption. Starting at €62,000 and rising 2 per cent a year, as the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland states its non-EU fees do, produces €391,100 rather than a flat €372,000. That clause costs €19,100 on its own.
The living-cost line uses eleven months a year. Stretch it to twelve and the Dublin total rises by roughly €14,700; shrink it to nine and it falls by about €29,300. That swing is larger than any fee negotiation you will ever have.
{{cta}}When do you pay what? A money timeline from application to graduation
Money leaves your account in a predictable order. Knowing the order prevents a scramble in August.
Applications open for entry the following September. Nothing large leaves your account yet.
Non-EU offers usually carry a tuition deposit that secures the seat. The first genuinely large payment.
Proof of at least €10,000 for the year, insurance purchased, visa application lodged. Processing runs in weeks, not days.
Deposit of roughly one month's rent, often €750 or more in Dublin, plus the first month up front. Purpose-built accommodation often bills a whole semester.
Balance of tuition, student contribution or levy, health screening where it applies, laptop or tablet.
Irish Residence Permit registration, €300. Repeats every year of the programme.
From year two the rhythm simplifies: tuition instalment, permit renewal, insurance renewal, rent. Three of those four rise every year.
What happens to the degree afterwards, under the Irish Medical Council and EU Directive 2005/36/EC?
An Irish basic medical qualification is recognised across the European Union and European Economic Area under Directive 2005/36/EC, which Ireland implements through the Medical Practitioners Act 2007 and S.I. 139 of 2008. The Irish Medical Council states that the focus is on the qualification held, not the applicant's citizenship, and that EU and non-EU citizens are generally treated equally. A Nigerian, Indian or Canadian graduate of University College Cork holds the same recognised qualification as an Irish classmate.
The intern year comes next. The Irish Medical Council grants internship registration to graduates of medical schools in Ireland, the United Kingdom and EU/EEA member states, and not to graduates of schools outside that area. Studying in Ireland puts you on the right side of that line. The internship runs twelve months, the Health Service Executive opens recruitment in October or November for posts starting the following July, and the national system held 915 intern posts at the time of writing.
The intern salary is published. On the Health Service Executive consolidated pay scale effective 1 June 2026, the Intern grade is €47,127 a year. That figure reframes the tables above: an EU-status graduate entry student who spent about €113,000 earns most of it back inside three years of practice. A non-EU student at €559,000 is on a longer arc.
Beyond Ireland the routes are familiar. The General Medical Council registers Irish graduates for the United Kingdom. The Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates handles United States certification, with Irish schools listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools. Our university overview sets out which programmes lead to which register, and student stories show how graduates used them.
What separates the sticker price from the cash you actually need?
Four things, none of them on a fee page. The first is timing: universities want tuition in one or two instalments at the start of term, while your funding may arrive monthly. The second is the deposit stack. In September of year one a Dublin student can face a tuition instalment, a rental deposit of €750 or more, a month's rent at €1,200, a laptop near €760, insurance at €690 and a €300 permit inside four weeks.
The third is escalation. Trinity College Dublin publishes annual fee increase rates of 2.33 per cent for cohorts entering before 2027/28 and 3 per cent for 2027/28 entrants. The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland states around 2 per cent for non-EU fees. Model the increase from the start.
The fourth is currency. Tuition is denominated in euro. If family income is in rupees, naira, dirhams or dollars, a 10 per cent move against the euro over six years changes a €391,000 tuition bill by €39,100 without a single fee rising. Pre-funding a euro account early removes that variable.
In our own placements, the students who finish comfortably built the whole-programme model before accepting an offer. Our placement services include that modelling as standard, because a cost surprise in year four costs far more to solve than a careful hour in year zero.
The author's view
I went through this arithmetic myself, in a different country and a different decade. I studied dentistry in Sofia between 2015 and 2021, and the thing nobody tells you at eighteen is that the fee table is the easy part. It is the second September that catches people, when the deposit has gone, the escalation has kicked in and the exchange rate has moved. I am now a licensed dentist in Switzerland and I live in Bern, and I still think about that second September whenever a family sends me a screenshot of a fee page.
What I like about Ireland is how little of it is hidden. Six schools, published schedules, a student contribution set by the national budget in October and visible to everyone. Compare that with systems where the real cost only appears after you accept. When we model an Irish route for a family, the numbers we give them in March are still the numbers in September, give or take the rent market.
My one piece of advice: decide the city before you fall in love with the school. In our own placements, the students who ran into trouble were almost never the ones who picked the wrong university. They were the ones who signed for Dublin on a Cork budget. Over 500 study places later, that is the pattern I would bet on.
Summary
- Non-EU tuition ran from €52,100 to €62,500 a year on the 2026/27 schedules, University College Cork lowest and the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland highest.
- Irish and EU students under the Free Fees Initiative pay no undergraduate tuition and meet a student contribution capped at €2,500 for 2026/27, after Budget 2026 made a €500 cut permanent.
- Graduate entry sits outside Free Fees: EU-status tuition was €15,080 a year at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland for 2025/26 and €15,820 at University of Limerick.
- Living costs split by city: University College Dublin budgets a median €2,445 a month in 2026, University College Cork €1,240 to €1,880, University of Limerick €1,000 to €1,200.
- Non-EU students add insurance of roughly €690 a year and a €300 Irish Residence Permit annually, plus proof of €10,000 available per year of study.
- A six-year non-EU Dublin degree comes to about €559,000 at 2026 prices; four-year graduate entry in Limerick is about €279,000 non-EU and about €113,000 EU-status.
- The Irish qualification is recognised across the EU and EEA under Directive 2005/36/EC, implemented via the Medical Practitioners Act 2007 and S.I. 139 of 2008.
- Irish Medical Council internship registration is open to graduates of Irish, United Kingdom and EU/EEA schools, and the Health Service Executive Intern grade paid €47,127 from 1 June 2026.
Conclusion
Ireland is one of the clearest-priced medical education systems in Europe. Six schools, published fee tables, an English-language degree and a qualification that travels under an EU directive. The numbers are large on the non-EU side and modest on the EU side, and both are knowable a year in advance if you build the model properly.
Which of the six fits you depends on your citizenship, your previous study, your budget and where you intend to practise afterwards. We assess all four together and tell you plainly what your route costs. Book a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions about the cost of studying medicine in Ireland
Is medicine in Ireland cheaper than in the United Kingdom or the United States?
For a non-EU student, Irish tuition of €52,100 to €62,500 a year in 2026/27 sits broadly alongside international medicine fees in the United Kingdom and below most private United States medical schools. For an EU student with Free Fees eligibility, Ireland is dramatically cheaper than either, because undergraduate tuition is met by the Irish state and the student meets only a contribution capped at €2,500 for 2026/27.
Can I work while studying medicine in Ireland?
Yes, within limits. Non-EEA students hold Stamp 2 permission, allowing casual employment of up to 20 hours a week in term and 40 hours during the set holiday periods of June to September and 15 December to 15 January. Clinical rotations are full-time, so most students treat part-time work as a supplement rather than a funding plan. EU students face no such restriction.
Does the fee I am quoted in year one stay the same for the whole degree?
No. Irish universities publish annual escalation rates. The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland states that non-EU fees rise by roughly 2 per cent a year, and Trinity College Dublin publishes rates of 2.33 per cent for cohorts entering before 2027/28 and 3 per cent for 2027/28 entrants. Over six years a 2 per cent escalation turns a €62,000 starting fee into about €391,100 in total rather than €372,000.
What is the student contribution charge and who pays it?
It is the annual charge Irish and EU undergraduate students pay towards student services and examinations, separate from tuition. The maximum rate is €2,500 for 2026/27, following the permanent €500 reduction confirmed in Budget 2026. Students who qualify for a SUSI grant can have it covered in full; the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland shows a grant-holder total of €990 for 2025/26 once the contribution is removed.
Do I need private health insurance as a non-EU student in Ireland?
Yes. Private medical insurance covering accidents, illness and hospital stays in Ireland is a condition of the student permission and must be shown at visa stage and again at immigration registration. Education in Ireland puts the market range at €300 to €1,500 a year; University College Dublin budgets €690. EU and EEA students use a European Health Insurance Card from their home country instead and pay nothing extra.
How much money do I need to show for an Irish student visa?
Immigration Service Delivery requires evidence of at least €10,000 available for each year of a course lasting a year or more, held in addition to the tuition fees for that year. Shorter courses use a monthly rate of €833. This is a demonstration of funds, not a payment, but it must be genuinely available and documented. The Irish Residence Permit itself costs €300 at first registration and at each annual renewal.
Is a four-year graduate entry programme cheaper overall than a five-year one?
Usually yes, despite a higher annual fee. University College Cork charges €56,100 a year for its four-year graduate entry medicine and €52,100 for the five-year undergraduate programme in 2026/27. Four years at the higher rate totals €224,400 against €260,500 for five years at the lower one, and you save a full year of living costs on top, which in Dublin is worth around €27,000.
Will my Irish medical degree be recognised in my home country?
Across the European Union and European Economic Area, yes, automatically under Directive 2005/36/EC, implemented in Ireland through the Medical Practitioners Act 2007 and S.I. 139 of 2008. Outside the EU, recognition runs through the destination regulator: the General Medical Council for the United Kingdom, the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates for the United States, national registers elsewhere. Irish schools are listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools, which most regulators require.
What students say about Medschool Experts
Over 500 placements at more than 25 partner universities across 10+ countries. Read independent student reviews on Trustpilot.
About the author

Marcel Kloos
Swiss-licensed dentist and founder of Medschool Experts
Marcel Kloos founded Medschool Experts while studying abroad; since then, over 500 study places have been secured. The Stuttgart-born dentist studied dentistry from 2015 to 2021 in Sofia and holds a Swiss dental licence.
Today he lives in Bern and runs Medschool Experts full-time as its owner.
More articles worth reading
Medical School News, 24 September 2026: More Seats, Bigger Shortages and New Pathways Worldwide
J-1 or H-1B? Visa Routes for International Medical Graduates in United States Residency 2026
Transfer from ASOMI College of Sciences: Where to Continue Medicine or Dentistry in 2026

Ahmad

Sabrina

Rami

Noah
500+ students placed.
Now it's your turn!
No daydreaming, no empty promises. Just a clear plan — for the start of your medical degree.
40 minutes, no obligation